Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

6th Grade

Our talented Scott Highlands Middle School teachers work diligently to provide a positive, engaging, collaborative, challenging and welcoming academic environment for every child.

Sixth-grade core classes include English, reading, math, Minnesota studies, science and physical education. Electives include art, family and consumer sciences (FACS), technology education, band and choir.

Each grade's course curriculum incrementally builds upon the rigor of the previous year, providing a stimulating, hands-on learning atmosphere. All students also have unique, individual access to the latest technology learning tools through the District 196 1:1 technology initiative. Each student receives an iPad to complete and turn in assignments, collaborate with their peers and their teachers. Additionally each student is assigned to a Homeroom Teacher, which is the first contact for parents with any general questions or concerns.

To make the transition to middle school easier, Scott Highlands Middle School offers an August orientation event, a student mentor program led by eighth-graders (WEB Leaders) and sixth-grade classes.

Meet Our 6th Grade Core Curriculum Teachers

Math Teachers

Lynn Cady

Lynn Vertherms 

Lynn.Vertherms@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82204

Ken Mulsoff

Ken mulsoff 

Ken.Mulsoff@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 88635

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Nancy Randolph 

Nancy.Randolph@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 84341

Tamara Scott

TAmara Scott

Tamara.Scott@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82518

english and reading teachers

Colleen Hovde

Colleen hovde

Colleen.Hovde@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82268

Mollie Trusty

Mollie Trusty 

Mollie.Trusty@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82293

Gina Wareham

Gina Wareham 

Gina.Wareham@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82583

Gina LaDoux

Gina LaDoux 

Gina.Ladoux@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 86784

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Lena Teachout

Lena.Teachout@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82295

Danell Toutge

danell toutge

Strategic Reading

651-683-6969

Danell.Toutge@district196.org

Voicemail: 85613

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Samantha Snidarich

Strategic Reading

Sam.Snidarich@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 88334

Science Teachers

Emily Hoopman

emily hoopman

Emily.Hoopman@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82266

Jill Jensen

Jill Jensen

Jill.Jensen@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82466

Ted Siefkes

Ted siefkes

Ted.Siefkes@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82280

Minnesota Studies

Andy Burns

Andrew burns

Andrew.Burns@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 84664

Joe Galloway

Joe galloway

Joe.Galloway@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82303

Emma Ryan

emma ryan

Emma.Ryan@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 86736

Physical Education Teacher 

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Jon Dahl

6th Grade Physical Education

Jon.Dahl@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 84995

English Learners Teachers

Vlada Symonova

Vlada Symonova

ELL

Vlada.Symonova@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82220

Lauren Nelson

Lauren NelsoN

English Learners

Lauren.Nelson@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82545