Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Special Education

District 196 Special Education is committed to equitable opportunities through high quality practices to accelerate growth for all students.

Equitable opportunities to accelerate growth

We provide a full continuum of services for students with disabilities. Our Special Education Department serves approximately 4,500 students who range in age from birth through 21. All schools in our district provide special education services with licensed special education teachers and offer intervention supports, evaluations and special education instruction.

District 196 offers a wide range of service delivery models. Most students receive services in their neighborhood school and, when possible, in their general education classroom setting. 

Special Education is specialized instruction specific to the student at no cost to parents. The instruction is designed to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. Children must meet specific criteria set by the State of Minnesota and the Federal Government to receive special education services. Special Education is an instructional service, not a place. 

To receive special education services, a student must first be evaluated and meet state criteria. Once qualified, an Individual Education Plan (IEP) is developed for the student.

Laura Carl

Laura Carl

Special Education Teacher

Laura.Carl@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82206

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Mary Coolidge

Special Education Teacher

Mary.Coolidge@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 83014

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Ben hullerus

Special Education Teacher

Ben.Hullerus@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82254

Alyssa Johns

Alyssa JohNs

Special Education Teacher

Alyssa.Johns@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 84771

Sarah Johnson

Sarah JohnsoN

Special Education Teacher

Sarah.Johnson@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82215

Emily Logterman

emily LogtermaN

Special Education Teacher

Emily.Logterman@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82227

Amy Mathews

Amy Mathews

Special Education Teacher

Amy.Mathews@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 84956

Erin Matschiner

Erin Matschiner

Special Education Teacher

Erin.Matschiner@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82920

Ryan McMurchie-Pasch

Ryan mcmurchie-pasch

Special Education Teacher

Ryan.McMurchiePasch@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82873

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Brooklyn Roberts

Special Education Teacher

Brooklyn.Roberts@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82253

Sarah Trenary

Sarah Trenary

Special Education Teacher

Sarah.Trenary@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82286

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Dylan CHeever

Occupational Therapist 

Dylan.Cheever@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 88325

Portrait placeholder that says No Photograph Available

Rachel Schlichting

Speech Clinician

Rachel.Schlichting@district196.org

651-683-6969

Voicemail: 82307